APC Chairmanship Tussle: Governors shortlists Akpabio, Uduaghan, Ebri, Presidency roots for Etiebet


As the controversy over the status of the embattled Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Adams Oshiomhole rages on, feelers have emerged that the governors in the party are already shopping for his replacement.

Governors’ Mandate gathers that most of the governors are seriously looking in the direction of three former governors from the South-South, the region to which the Chairmanship of the Party is currently zoned.

According to sources who are in the know, Chief Clement Ebri, a former governor of Cross-River state who also aspired for the exalted position and Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, a former governor of Delta State who joined the APC in the last dispensation are being considered.

Also shortlisted is a former Governor of Akwa Ibom state, Sen. Godswill Akpabio. Mr. Akpabio is currently the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs.

Another source however said the power brokers in the presidency are looking in the way of Chief Don Etiebet, a former Petroleum Minister and one time chairman of the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP). Etiebet was ANPP’s chair when President Muhammadu Buhari first ran for presidency in 2003.

The source further disclosed that an emergency NEC meeting of the party may soon be convened to ratify the choice of the party hierarchy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here